We use cookies to provide the best site experience.
Ok, don't show again
We use cookies to provide the best site experience.
Ok, don't show again


Standards Wise International India has knowledge of and frameworks to meet most International Standards in Human Services. The general quality of care principles remains common to all Nations. We support implementation and adoption and then accredit organisations once fully adopted. Development of exemplar Practice in delivering Standards, Accreditation and Quality Management in Human Services and Senior Living environment are our areas of expertise.
The Senior Living Standards International Edition are written in outcome form, to reflect continuous quality improvement principles and embody the values on which the SWI Accreditation Program is based.



There are ten standards that can be applied in the public, commercial and community living sectors for senior living in a range of service types and organisations, including but not exclusive to:

• Senior Living Community
• Independent Living Community (IL)
• Assisted Living Community (AL)
• Continuing Care Retirement Community (CC)

Standards Wise International through their Indian subsidiary Standards Wise International India , rolled out the first ever Standards and Accreditation Matrix for the private sector in the space of Senior Living and Care Communities, for India.

In development of the local version of the Senior Living Standards, SWII facilitated consultations with global organisations, assessors, and several other Indian stakeholders, including senior members of the Association of Senior Living India (ASLI).

The standards are edited by Mr. Mansoor Dalal, Founder of ASLI.

The accreditation certificate, which will be issued after validation and assessing of various criteria and quality standards, will carry the endorsement of ASLI, SWII and The Commonwealth Association for Ageing

The combination of SWI, CA and ASLI brings together an extraordinarily strong group with significant expertise in this sector, that will introduce and promote a Senior Living Standards and Accreditation Matrix for India.

The Standards adapts and enhances existing standards and accreditation templates taken from SWI, and populates them with criteria, indicators, and evidence relevant and unique to the Indian context, introducing a preliminary code of operations for self-regulation, along with best practices collected from India and developed markets across the world.

The Standards have a four-level hierarchy comprising a quality standard and its intent, followed by multiple criteria to achieve the stated intent. This criterion is then further broken up into smaller indicators or objectives, which are then measured and assessed for evidence, and a rating score issued after final validation and assessment.

These Standards have criteria which are both mandatory and optional, thus allowing Communities and entities across all socio-economic strata to engage, even at the entry and basic levels, while having an aspirational line of sight on how to improve over time, given available resources, which would then reflect in the rating score being upgraded.

There are 8 Quality Standards, Governance, Management and Personnel, Design and Construction, Facilities Management, Resident engagement and Experience, Technology and Information Management and Hygiene, Safety, Infection Prevention / Pandemic Control (HSIPC).